ALDEN YACHTS

ALDEN YACHTS - the American shipbuilding legend

ALDEN YACHTS is a shipyard that has become a true legend in the world of yachtbuilding. The shipyard was opened in 1909, in Portsmouth (Rhode Island). Its founder, John Alden, during his period work made over thousand of motor and sailing boats.

It all started in 1902, when Alden became a disciple of the famous designer. By 1909, he became an expert sailor and designer and opened his own firm in Boston. So there was ALDEN brand.

The shipyard did not win its laurels at once: only in 1932, when the Malabar X yacht won the races in Bermuda, the company gained prominence. It was the third victory in the races: in 1923 Alden participated with Malabar IV, and in 1926 - with Malabar VII.

Alden Yachts specialized in so-called semicustom yachts: ??? vessels were manufactured according to the existing projects, modifying them to the requirements and wishes of the customers. Among them there were motor yachts and sailboats. Many of them could (and still can) survive in the harsh weather conditions.

The ALDEN yachts are known far beyond the boundaries of the United States. Due to its design and driving performance they are highly competitive with the best European vessels. Many of them are still afloat and are not considered as a rarity. Among them are the classic sailing ships and modern motor boats.

The shipyard "lived" until 2008. Now it is not functioning, and the remained vessels were deposited to MIT Museum (Cambridge). The collection is regularly updated.

ALDEN YACHTS is the legend of the American shipbuilding industry that played a great role in the development of the yachting market in the USA and set the high quality standards for the modern shipyards.

Read more...
Advanced search
Full catalog

ALDEN YACHTS Search

from to
from to
from to
Found 1 yacht for sale
image description

ALDEN YACHTS

ALDEN YACHTS – легенда американского судостроения

ALDEN YACHTS – верфь, ставшая настоящей легендой в мире яхтостроения. Верфь была открыта в 1909 году, в Портсмуте (Род-Айленд). Ее основатель, Джон Олден, за время работы создал более тысячи моторных и парусных лодок.

Все началось в 1902 году, когда Олден стал учеником известного дизайнера. К 1909 году он стал опытным моряком и конструктором и открыл собственное бюро в Бостоне. Так появился бренд ALDEN.

Слава к верфи пришла не сразу: лишь в 1932 году, когда яхта Malabar X победила на Бермудских гонках, компания обрела известность. Это была третья победа на гонках: в 1923 году Олден выходил с Malabar IV, а в 1926 – с Malabar VII.

В Alden Yachts специализировались на так называемых полузаказных яхтах: суда строили по готовым проектам, модифицируя их под требования и пожелания клиентов. Среди них были и моторные яхты, и парусники. Многие из них могли (и по сей день могут) выстоять в суровых погодных условиях.

Яхты ALDEN известны далеко за пределами США. По своим ходовым качествам и дизайну они не уступают лучшим европейским судам. Многие из них остаются на плаву и отнюдь не считаются раритетом. Среди них есть и классические парусники, и современные моторные лодки.

Верфь «прожила» до 2008 года. Сейчас она не функционирует, а оставшиеся суда передали на хранение в MIT Museum (Кембридж). Коллекция регулярно пополняется.

ALDEN YACHTS – легенда американского судостроения, сыгравшая огромную роль в становлении яхтенного рынка в США и задавшая стандарты качества современным верфям.

Читать далее...
Расширенный поиск
Полный каталог

Найти ALDEN YACHTS

от до
от до
от до
Найдено 3 яхты на продажу
  • image description
image description