ALEXANDER STEPHEN & SONS

ALEXANDER STEPHEN & SONS - the legend from Scotland

ALEXANDER STEPHEN & SONS is the old-school shipyard, established in Scotland, on the Clyde River (Glasgow). The company was founded by Alexander Stephen in 1750. His children and grandchildren established two shipbuilding companies - in Aberdeen and Arbroath. The namesake and descendant of the founder, Alexander Stephan, amalgamated the companies in 1828. Throughout its period of existence ALEXANDER STEPHEN & SONS moved several times and expanded its production. The company had a lot of branches, the last of which closed in 1982.

ALEXANDER STEPHEN & SONS was a large shipyard that built not only sailing boats, but also the large vessels, including the motor vessels. In 1968 it entered Upper Clyde Shipbuilders, having associated with four other major shipbuilders of Glasgow.

ALEXANDER STEPHEN & SONS was actively developing new technology. This company made both the traditional sailing ships and steamers. The shipyard produced the cargo and passenger ships, torpedo-boat destroyers, bulk carriers, trawlers, tankers, cruisers, aircraft carriers, landing ship tanks, frigates, support ships. The company played an important role in the Second World War: during the years of confrontation with Germany it built the warships. After the war, the shipyard moved into the field of civil shipbuilding.

ALEXANDER STEPHEN & SONS was also engaged in yachtbuilding, but the scopes of work on the private boats and cargo-and-passenger ships are not comparable. The yachts built here, reflect a traditional approach to quality, technical specifications, and reliability.

Read more...
Advanced search
Full catalog

ALEXANDER STEPHEN & SONS Search

from to
from to
from to
Found 2 yachts for sale
  • image description
  • image description
image description

ALEXANDER STEPHEN & SONS

ALEXANDER STEPHEN&SONS – легенда из Шотландии

ALEXANDER STEPHEN&SONS – старинная судостроительная верфь, созданная в Шотландии, на реке Клайд (Глазго). Компания была основана Александром Стивеном в 1750 году. Его дети и внуки создали две судостроительные фирмы – в Абердине и Арброте. Тезка и потомок основателя, Александр Стефан, объединил фирмы в 1828 году. На всем протяжении существования ALEXANDER STEPHEN&SONS переезжала несколько раз и расширяла производство. У компании появилась масса отделений, последнее из которых закрылось в 1982 году.

ALEXANDER STEPHEN&SONS была крупной верфью, где строили не только парусные лодки, но и крупные суда, в том числе моторные. В 1968 году она вошла в Upper Clyde Shipbuilders, объединившись с четырьмя другими крупнейшими судостроителями Глазго.

На ALEXANDER STEPHEN&SONS активно осваивали новые технологии. Здесь строили как традиционные парусные корабли, так и пароходы. С верфи сходили грузовые и пассажирские суда, эсминцы, сухогрузы, траулеры, танкеры, крейсеры, авианосцы, танкодесантные суда, фрегаты, вспомогательные суда. Компания сыграла важную роль во Второй Мировой войне: в годы противостояния с Германией здесь строили военные суда. После окончания войны верфь перешла в сферу гражданского судостроения.

На ALEXANDER STEPHEN&SONS занимались и яхтостроением, но объемы работы над частными лодками и грузопассажирскими судами несопоставимы. Яхты, построенные здесь, отражают в себе традиционный подход к качеству, техническим характеристикам, надежности.

Читать далее...
Расширенный поиск
Полный каталог

Найти ALEXANDER STEPHEN & SONS

от до
от до
от до
Найдена 1 яхта на продажу
image description