PEARSON

PEARSON - a leader in the field of fiberglass

PEARSON was a manufacturer of fiberglass sailing ships from 1956 until 1990. Pearson Yachts was founded by Clinton and Everett Pearson in a small garage, located in Seekonk, MA in 1956. The company was one of the earliest manufacturers of fiberglass sailboats. It experienced a steady increase in demand during the 1960s and 1970s by producing a wide range of sailing ships, most of which were designed by Bill Shaw. After the change of ownership during the 80s Pearson was on the verge of bankruptcy and was sold to Grumman - the company from related industry. Currently, the rights to the name and the trademark are owned by USWatercraft.

When cousins Clinton and Everett Pearson began to build the fiberglass vessels, this material has not yet been tested. They acted at their own risk. However, their daring was justified - the founders of the shipyard could create the yachts that were truly innovative for that time. In the 60-70s, when many companies just started the first experiments with fiberglass, PEARSON already had a great experience. It is not surprising that the vessels of this company have become so popular - they were even bought by the shipyards to look at the boat construction.

Already in 1961 Pearson Yachts attracted the attention of Grumman. The Grumman company was interested in getting a share in a rapidly growing company that owns the technology of work with fiberglass. Therefore, the company acquired a controlling stake in Pearson from the cousins at a time when the shipyard was on the verge of bankruptcy. Pearson Yachts received the investments that brought the company's financial stability. They continued steady growth under the auspices of Grumman, until they were bought out by TPI.

Read more...
Advanced search
Full catalog

PEARSON Search

from to
from to
from to
Found 13 yachts for sale
  • image description
image description

PEARSON

PEARSON – лидер в области стекловолокна

PEARSON был производителем стеклопластиковых парусных судов с 1956 до 1990 года. Pearson Yachts была основана Clinton и Everett Pearson в небольшом гараже, расположенном в Seekonk, MA в 1956 году. Компания была одним из первых производителей парусников из стекловолокна. Она испытывала устойчивый рост спроса в 1960-х и 1970-х годах, изготавливая широкий спектр парусных судов, большая часть которых была разработана Биллом Шоу. После смены владельца на протяжении 80-х годов Pearson оказалась на грани банкротства и была продана Grumman – компании из смежной отрасли. В настоящее время права на имя и торговую марку принадлежат USWatercraft.

Когда кузены Клинтон и Эверетт Пирсон стали строить суда из стекловолокна, это материал еще не был испытан. Они действовали на свой страх и риск. Однако их дерзания оправдались – основатели верфи смогли создать действительно инновационные для своего времени яхты. В 60-70-е годы, когда многие фирмы только начали первые эксперименты со стекловолокном, у PEARSON был уже огромный опыт. Поэтому неудивительно, что суда этой компании стали так популярны – их покупали даже верфи, чтобы посмотреть, как устроены лодки.

Уже в 1961 году Pearson Yachts привлекла внимание Grumman. Компания Grumman была заинтересована в получении доли в быстро развивающейся компании, которая владеет технологией работы со стекловолокном. Поэтому фирма приобрела контрольный пакет акций Pearson у кузенов в тот момент, когда верфь оказалась на грани банкротства. Pearson Yachts получила инвестиции, которые принесли финансовую стабильность компании. Они продолжали устойчивый рост под эгидой Grumman, пока не были выкуплены TPI.

Читать далее...
Расширенный поиск
Полный каталог

Найти PEARSON

от до
от до
от до
Найдено 13 яхт на продажу
  • image description
image description